Exciting world of Fujifilm

Couple of months back my friendly journey with Canon gears came to a halt. It was after few years of drooling over the beautiful old film like renditions of images by Fujifilm products. Finally I managed to acquire a Fujifilm XE2S camera and the ‘not so KIT’ lenses, Fujinon XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 R LM OIS and Fujinon XF 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 R LM OIS for my wife to take pictures of our new baby girl. In no time the gears became mine, sorry wifey. (Evil Laugh). It built the next step when I bought the highly anticipated newcomer Fujifilm X-T2.

So why I made a jump. Just a few to touch on, will add more in next few posts.

First thing first,
1) Lightweight without compromising the quality !
I used to walk, explore alot during my travel.However a travel is not only about photography but also about the joy it brings. However for the past many years I rarely had a good ending, apart from the beautiful images. Carrying around 5 kg of camera gear on your back is not always an easy task, and to add another kilo for the tripod. My back will never forgive me for what I did to it. Days are gone after Fuji came into my life. Now I carry XE2S and the X-T2 in my both shoulders and still enjoy every steps I take. I look cool too. (cough cough)

2) Image quality – Fuji has its own X-Trans sensor which works different to the other sensors. Im not a tech guy and I never researched into these tech terms, for me camera is a medium that connect me to what I see and make it an eternal memory. Fuji does it very well. Its rendition of colors and tones are awesome. Adding many other top features of high end cameras to a smaller lightweight body, the whole package makes great sense to a Travel and Documentary photographer like me. I shot RAW all the time, with Fuji I started to rely also on the JPEGs for the first time after 10 years. currently Fujis RAW are not completely supported by the adobe products which I use 100%, Im still waiting. But what I have noticed is the flexibility of its RAW files. Drag the Shadow slider towards maximum, my Canon RAW files will be filled with noise, but fuji remarkably have low noise, which is a great news for me, who prefers shooting in more shadows than highlights.
In-camera image processing, wifi connectivity all make things such easy, sometimes I upload images straight to the social network platforms within minutes.

3) Array of excellent lenses for nominal prices.
Yes fuji shines in that too. They have an awesome line of lenses. I currently use their Kit zooms as mentioned above, which are not really kits. They easily cost double or more and super capable than their counterparts from other brands. Well, everyone has a starting point. I used canon, I have used Nikon from my photo buddies. I always wanted to upgrade to the next lens – for better image quality. But with Fuji, its a different story. I no longer want to upgrade to another lens in same range, rather I learnt to explore the current lens better. I can clearly see the its potential in terms of image quality. They are super sharp, focus so fast, most have that amazing aperture rings that gives you a great feeling, and they are mostly metals without adding much weight.
However the long zooms are bit oversized compare to the body they sit on. Which is not a big issue in practical world, but still I wish fuji could make the zooms bit comparable to the body size, for more stability in smaller cameras like XE series. Also not every lenses are weather resistant. One has to pay a premium to get those glasses, but they are not so high compare to the counterparts, specially when Fuji starts its amazing cash-back programs, which brings down the prices by atleast 300$.

4) Firmware
Fuji is notorious to respect its customers demands by releasing regular firmwares. They don’t do this by releasing another highly priced lens or body, rather they do it within the system you already got. The firmware updates always introduce some great features. They essentially make an old camera or lens into a new without even charging a penny. In Two or Three years my X-T2 will be another new camera matching the technology in that period. Few things which wont change are the sensor and processor which are physically there. Apart from that I think everything else is under the hood of fuji updates.

What is the future ?. Well obviously acquiring some great primes from fuji. Don’t tell my wife !

Here are few samples I took couple of days back. Im still exploring the new system. I will talk on more features in the next posts. These images were taken on both JPEGs and Raws. The JPEG pictures below are straight from the camera with 0% post-processing. None of the existing cameras from any brands are perfect including Fuji. I still need to do some basic adjustments on the Raws. However, for this level of quality there will be only a few to adjust, and only few cameras will give this level of quality without spending huge money on great lenses and cameras to obtain the same.

Bhagi
http://www.bhagisiva.com

Barrenjoey Lighthouse, palm beach, nswtravel, twilight, xt2, fuji x-T2, velvia simulation, nswtravel, fujifilm camera, X-T2, fuji xt2, fujinon, fuji 18-55mm, fuji photographer
Barrenjoey Lighthouse in Palm beach, NSW, Australia. My friend made a good scale there. f/5, ISO 400, 1/2500, Fujifilm X-T2 with Fujinon 18-55mm
nswtravel, twilight, xt2, fuji x-T2, velvia simulation, nswtravel, fujifilm camera, X-T2, fuji xt2, fujinon, fuji 18-55mm, fuji photographer
Barrenjoey Lighthouse, on ‘Miniature’ mode- one of the few interesting effects built-in. f/5.6, ISO 400, 1/2500, Fujifilm X-T2 with Fujinon 18-55mm
nswtravel, twilight, xt2, fuji x-T2, velvia simulation, nswtravel, fujifilm camera, X-T2, fuji xt2, fujinon, fuji 18-55mm, fuji photographer
A lonely night at Palm beach, NSW, Australia. f/5.6, ISO 320, 6.5secs, Fujifilm X-T2 with Fujinon 18-55mm
palm beach, nswtravel, fujifilm camera, X-T2, fuji xt2, fujinon, fuji 18-55mm, fuji photographer
A beautiful Dark night in Palm beach. f/11, ISO 320, 30secs, Fujifilm X-T2 with Fujinon 18-55mm